1728 N Lake Dr, Lexington, SC

(803) 359-0507

Come visit our new 5,000 sf.

showroom for the greatest people & selection in the Midlands!

Burgess elected as secretary of South Carolina School Boards Association

December 13, 2016


Batesburg-Leesville, SC - Cheryl Burgess, member of the Lexington School District Three Board, was elected secretary of the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) during the association’s annual Delegate Assembly on Saturday, December 3.


The association’s annual business meeting, which was held during the association’s Legislative Advocacy Conference, included voting delegates from most of the state’s 81 school boards. In addition to electing association officers, delegates adopted resolutions to guide the association during the 2017 legislative session.


Burgess was elected to the Lexington Three Board in 2002.  She has served as Secretary, Vice-Chair, and Chair as well as Advocacy Chair and Legislative Delegate to SCSBA.


Burgess has served as President of the Twin City Rotary Club, Ambassador for the Batesburg-Leesville Chamber of Commerce, and a mentor in the Lexington Three Mentoring program.  She is currently serving on the Midlands Technical College Advisory Board for the Batesburg-Leesville campus.  


Burgess is an Optical Technician for Columbia Eye Clinic.  She has achieved a Level 6 in the Boardmanship Institute Program.  She served as the Region 9 director for the SCSBA Board for 8 years.


During her term as Region 9 director, she initiated and planned quarterly Board Chair/Superintendent meetings for the districts in Region 9.


Cheryl is married to John Burgess.  They have two children, Julie (Ben) Ruff and Jeff Burgess.  They have three grandchildren:  Hollis, Addy Lynn, and James Ruff.


Officers elected to lead the association’s board of directors for a one-year term are as follows:


    President, Queenie Boyd, Lee County School District
    President-elect, Wesley Hightower, Aiken County School District
    Vice President, Tony Folk, Dorchester School District Four
    Treasurer, Chuck Saylors, Greenville County Schools 


Others elected to serve a four-year term on the 23-member board of directors as regional directors are:

    Region 2 Director,  Cindy Bohn Coats, Charleston County School District
    Region  4 Director,  Janice Morreale, Horry County Schools
    Region 8 Director, Jamie Devine, Richland One School District
    Region 12 Director,   Annie McDaniel, Fairfield County School District
    Region 16 Director, Tom Dobbins, Anderson County School District 4


The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and a statewide voice for boards governing the state’s 81 school districts.


Please reload

Keep Your News Free - Donate to The Ledger
Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144

Nancy Road Digital Media Inc.

                                                                                      DBA: The Lexington Ledger

Contact: (803) 587-3144                                                                                                           Tips call the hotline at: (803) 587-3144

email: thelexingtonledger@gmail.com                                                                                      Content protected by US copyright laws

                                                                                                                                                 Advertising / marketing call Paul (803) 587-3144


© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with Wix.com