New Logo.PNG
Keep Your News Free - Donate to The Ledger

Three District Five students advance to final round of 2017 U.S. Presidential Scholars competition

IRMO- Three students from Lexington-Richland School District Five have been selected to the final round of the 2017 U.S. Presidential Scholars competition. Those students are: Ian Bain (Irmo High School), Sydney Bertram (Spring Hill High School) and Eric Chen (Dutch Fork High School).

“We commend these students for being named semifinalists in the 2017 U.S. Presidential Scholars competition,” said Dr. Christina Melton, District Five’s Chief Instructional Officer. “This recognition solidifies the rigorous curriculum we offer to our students here in District Five and these three students have embraced and exceeded expectations in the classroom. They are very deserving of this significant achievement!”

The United States Presidential Scholars program was established in 1964, by Executive Order of the President, to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year over 4,000 candidates are identified for having scored exceptionally well on the SAT or the ACT.

The Scholars represent excellence in education and the promise of greatness in young people. In honoring the U.S. Presidential Scholars, the President of the United States symbolically honors all graduating high school seniors of high potential. The White House Commission will review applications and select up to 161 U.S. Presidential Scholars later this year.

For more information about the U.S. Presidential Scholars program, please visit

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144