District Five names Teacher, Support Employee of the Year for 2017-18

IRMO – Lexington-Richland School District Five announced its 2017-18 Teacher of the Year and Support Employee of the Year at a ceremony held on May 10 at Saluda Shoals River Center.

Billie Williams, a Chapin High School geography and government teacher, was named District Five’s 2017-18 Teacher of the Year during the district’s Employee Recognition Program. Christina Smith-Galloway, a clerical assistant at Leaphart Elementary School, was named Support Employee of the Year.

District Five Superintendent Dr. Stephen Hefner said, “District Five is great because of the many caring and talented teachers and support staff we have in our schools, and Ms. Williams and Mrs. Smith-Galloway represent the best of the best in our district. We congratulate them and thank them for their hard work, dedication and all they do to make District Five successful!”

Williams is in her third year at Chapin High School. She received her bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from the University of South Carolina and a master’s degree in secondary social studies at The Citadel.

“I am so excited to win this award,” Williams said. “I absolutely love my school and have had so much support from my school family, my family and principal. Ultimately, this award isn’t about me. It is about my kids. We have worked so hard for the past three years and I cannot wait to share this award with my students!”

Smith-Galloway has spent three years in District Five. She received her bachelor’s degree from Winthrop University in psychology and sociology. She also received a master’s degree in education, teaching and learning from Liberty University.

“Tonight I reflect on my favorite quote of all time which is ‘There are no traffic jams along the extra mile,’” Smith-Galloway said. “I’ve got a lot of people on this mile with me. The people I work with that allow me to help them are what matters. I cannot even put into words what this award means to me!”

Support Employee of the Year Christina Smith-Galloway, Teacher of the Year Billie Williams, secretary Ellen Baumgardner, District Five Superintendent Dr. Stephen Hefner and Jan Hammond.

District Five board members celebrate its 2017-18 Teacher and Support Employee of the Year. From left to right: School board chairman Robert Gantt, Beth Hutchinson, vice chairman Larry Haltiwanger, Sr.

Keep Your News Free - Donate to The Ledger
Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144

Nancy Road Digital Media Inc.

                                                                                      DBA: The Lexington Ledger

Contact: (803) 587-3144                                                                                                           Tips call the hotline at: (803) 587-3144

email: thelexingtonledger@gmail.com                                                                                      Content protected by US copyright laws

                                                                                                                                                 Advertising / marketing call Paul (803) 587-3144


© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with Wix.com