New Logo.PNG
Keep Your News Free - Donate to The Ledger

Lexington County Farm Service Agency Holds County Committee Election Informational Meeting

Lexington, SC - Lexington County USDA Farm Service Agency is hosting an informational meeting regarding the 2017 FSA County Committee Election process on July 27, 2017, at 3:00 p.m. at AgSouth Farm Credit- Batesburg located at 109 East Church Street Batesburg-Leesville, SC 29070. The meeting is free and open to the public. Producers, including minority, women and new farmers, are encouraged to attend the meeting and participate in the 2017 election.

The county committee nomination period began on June 15, 2017. Nomination forms must be postmarked or received in Lexington County FSA Office by close of business on Aug. 1, 2017.

For election purposes, counties are divided into local administrative areas (LAA). Each LAA nominates and elects one producer to serve a three-year term on the FSA county committee.

Each year, an election is held in an LAA where a committee member’s three-year term is expiring. For 2017, an election will be held in LAA 1, which includes Batesburg-Leesville, Chapin, Gilbert, and surrounding rural areas.

County committees are unique to FSA and allow producers to have a voice on federal farm program implementation at the local level.

To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the LAA in which the person is a candidate.

Farmers and ranchers may nominate themselves or others. Organizations representing minorities and women also may nominate candidates. To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign an FSA-669A nomination form. The form and other information about FSA county committee elections are available at Nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the local USDA service center by close of business on Aug. 1, 2017.

Elected county committee members are responsible for making decisions on FSA disaster, conservation, commodity and price support programs, as well as other important federal farm program issues.

FSA will mail election ballots to eligible voters beginning Nov. 6, 2017. Ballots are due back in the Lexington County Office by mail or in person no later than Dec. 4, 2017. All newly elected county committee members and alternates will take office Jan. 1, 2018.

For more information about the meeting, please contact CED, Matthew Wannamaker at 803-359-3165 extension 2.

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144