New Logo.PNG

Congressman Joe Wilson applauds inclusion of the SC Peanut Parity Act in Farm Bill

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Joe Wilson (R-SC) released the following statement after his legislation, the Peanut Parity Act, was included in the recently released Farm Bill.

“I am grateful that the South Carolina Peanut Parity Act of 2017 was included in the 2018 Farm Bill. South Carolina is the fourth largest peanut producing state and we will soon have a place on the Peanut Standards Board. Our farmers deserve a voice and when the Farm Bill becomes law, they will officially have a seat at the table.”


In the 2002 Farm Bill, the U.S. Department of Agriculture established the Peanut Standards Board, a board that advises the Secretary of Agriculture and Department on peanut quality and handling standards. The board consists of 18 members who represent three regions: the Southeast (Alabama, Florida, and Georgia), the Southwest (New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas), and Virginia/North Carolina. Each region is represented with three producer seats and three industry representative seats, and members serve staggered three year terms. By law, members of the Peanut Standards Board must be from a state in one of the three designated regions.

South Carolina farmers produce over eight percent of the nation’s peanuts. As a state, South Carolina is the fourth largest peanut producing state.

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144