top of page
Top of page.PNG

Time to ride: Congaree Elementary students win special contest for academic success

West Columbia, SC - Good grades are a strong motivator for improvement -- and so are bikes!

Congaree Elementary students in second through fifth grades have been working this semester to earn tickets and points, which counted toward an end-of-the-school-year drawing in each homeroom for two bike winners each -- one boy and one girl.

“The students have been excited about the bicycle incentive,” said Principal Jeff Becker.

Forty bikes were given away Wednesday, May 29, based on criteria designed by teachers including attendance, academic improvement in assessments, completion of classwork and homework, positive behavior and more.

“It’s all about the kids,” said fourth-grade teacher Hannah Rohrer, “and the kids are excited!”

Here are the winners:

Second grade

  • Karen Cress’ class -- Baya Green and Colton Tindall

  • Carolyn Lowman’s class -- Braylynn Hyler and J’Lonn English

  • Wendy White’s class -- Amaya Kepler and Christian Chandler

  • Danelle Williams’ class -- Kahna Herron and Elijah Williams

  • Lorri Wood’s class -- Ariana D’Elia and Leland Miller

Third grade

  • Amanda Barnhart’s class -- Jackie Morales-Orellana and Troy Hartley

  • Shelli Horabik’s class -- Faith Wright and Christopher Velazquez-Raygoza

  • Cheryl Myers’ class -- Zoe Brown and Mason Cribb

  • Katherine Tinman’s class -- Emily Crawford and Leonel Hernandez

  • Nikki Wojcik’s class -- Sarah Campbell and Jack VerCrouse

Fourth grade

  • Janette Babcock’s class -- Kaylee Cook and Joe Chaffin

  • Detra Brannon’s class -- Kyle Cooper and Ja’Keria Utsey

  • Macie Fitzgerald’s class -- Jessica Muniz-Zapata and Connor Pugh

  • Grace Lifer’s class -- Kyleigh Sharpe and Kayon Evans

  • Hannah Rohrer’s class -- Joye Booth and Cohlen Rose

Fifth grade

  • Jennifer Amick’s class -- MyKenzie Britner and Jacob Harmon

  • Beth Brooks’ class -- Estrella “Star” Agustin-Marino and Kev’von Simmons

  • Catelyn Coltrin’s class -- Isbella Lynch and Landon Bowers

  • Michelle Gundlach’s class -- Azaria Rouse and Isahia Clemons

  • Sherri McKelvin’s class -- Deziraw Stacey and Christian Muniz-Zapata

Contract Construction, Jumper Carter Sease Architects and MB Kahn Construction sponsored the bike incentive, while the Walmart Supercenter on Augusta Highway put the bikes together for students.

Ariana D’Elia and Leland Miller were among second-grade bike winners.

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144

bottom of page