Town of Lexington Response to DHEC/CWS Administrative Order

Lexington, SC - On August 1, 2016, the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) took the extraordinary step of denying a permit for Carolina Water Service, Inc. (CWS) to discharge treated effluent from its I-20 wastewater treatment plant into the Saluda River. The Town of Lexington Mayor Steve MacDougall said “the Town commends DHEC's decision to deny CWS's permit. The Town intends to fully comply with its obligations as a designated management agency in the Section 208 Wastewater Management Plan either by purchase, condemnation, or other connection to eliminate this discharge.” MacDougall also said "it has long been the position of the Town that the elimination of discharges from CWS’s I-20 facility and from its Lake Murray Watergate facility is imperative to the safety of the waters of South Carolina and the quality of life of our citizens, customers and neighbors to eliminate unnecessary pollution." MacDougall also indicated that the Town would be reviewing DHEC’s decision along with the Administrative Order in an effort to determine its next steps. Notwithstanding these developments, the Town does not believe that any wastewater services will be interrupted.

The Town of Lexington is the county seat and the largest town of Lexington County, South Carolina. The Town is a suburb of the state capital with a population of approximately 20,000.

Keep Your News Free - Donate to The Ledger
Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144

Nancy Road Digital Media Inc.

                                                                                      DBA: The Lexington Ledger

Contact: (803) 587-3144                                                                                                           Tips call the hotline at: (803) 587-3144

email:                                                                                      Content protected by US copyright laws

                                                                                                                                                 Advertising / marketing call Paul (803) 587-3144


© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with