New Logo.PNG

B-L Primary first graders conduct elections

Batesburg-Leesville, SC - Though the national elections captured the spotlight of most of the country recently, the election of officers for first graders at B-L Primary has provided the students with great information on how to run an election and how to register to vote.

First grade teachers worked diligently to explain our country’s voting system to their young students and a slate of officers for four prestigious offices were chosen. Voting was held on November 7. Prior to the voting, students had to register to vote and then received their voter registration cards. Prior to November 7, the candidates gave campaign speeches to their fellow classmates and encouraged everyone to vote for them. Candidates included: Lexie Davis and Trey Smith for president; Om Patel and Kelsyn Felton for vice-president; Chloe Morris and Hester Grace Covington for secretary; and Chloe Levy and Makenzie Hildebrand for treasurer.

Winners were announced on November 9 and are as follows: Lexie Davis, president; Kelsyn Felton, vice-president; Hester Grace Covington, secretary; and Chloe Levy, treasurer.

What a great way to teach our young students about the election process and to provide them with the opportunity to see democracy in action.

Captions for photos:

Photo 1: B-L Primary first grade candidates:

Front: Makenzie Hildebrand and Chloe Levy

Second row: Chloe Morris and Hester Grace Covington

Third row: Om Patel and Kelsyn Felton

Fourth row: Lexie Davis and Trey Smith

Photo 2: First graders show their support of their candidates during the candidates platform assembly.

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144