New Logo.PNG

B-L High Students Earn National Career Readiness Certificates

Batesburg-Leesville, SC - ACT WorkKeys is a job skills assessment system that helps employers select, hire, train, develop, and retain a high performance workforce, ACT WorkKeys measures foundational and soft skills and offers specialized assessments to target institutional needs

2017 Batesburg-Leesville High senior, Ryan Jennings was the first Batesburg-Leesville High student to achieve Platinum level on the ACT WorkKeys assessment. Ryan, along with 92 other students from across the state, was recognized by State Superintendent of Education Molly Spearman at a ceremony on September 21 in Columbia.

In the spring, all South Carolina students in their third year of high school took ACT WorkKeys, a job skills assessment. Students took three timed assessments in Reading for Information, Applied Mathematics and Locating Information. For Reading for Information and Applied Mathematics assessments, students could earn up to a seven. On the Locating Information assessment, students could earn up to a six.

Students successfully earning a score of three or higher on all three assessments could earn a National Career Readiness Certificate at either the Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze level, depending on performance. To earn a Platinum, students scored a level six or higher on all exams. To earn a gold, students scored a level five or higher. To earn a silver, students scored a level four or higher on all three exams. To earn a Bronze, students scored a level three or higher on all three exams.

Listed below are the Batesburg-Leesville High School students who earned either a Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze National Career Readiness Certificates.


Ryan Jennings


Briana Bedenbaugh

Cameron Bedenbaugh

Helena Burton

Kirkland Dukes

Parker Eargle

Christine Morris

Megin Patrick

Kassandra Rabon

Nolan Ridge

Joshua Scruggs

Samuel Shoemaker

Samantha Smith

Mariah Swygert

Kaleel Turner

Glenn Williams

Cody Wyatt

Hannah Younce


Lindsay Aaron

Heidi Abstance

Kaitlyn Anderson

Haven Banks

Jacob Beck

Briana Bedenbaugh

Bridget Bedenbaugh

Hunter Bedenbaugh

Anthony Berry

William Brock

Bianca Bush

Bailey Colson

Lauren Davidson

Ayanna Etheredge

Thomas Feaster

Jeffery Fogel

Kacie Frady

Ollie Gray

Tyrese Green

Ivy Gunter

Ny Laysia Hair

Mikal Hartley

Dejuan Hill

Jesus Ibarra

Celeste Jackson

Emma Janney

LaChristy Jones

Thomas Kaminer

Da’Zuna Lott

Kendra Martinez

Ashlyn McEwen

Jaquez McKiever

Aza McMillan

Courtney Moates

Roman Mulkey

Nicholas Nettles

Jada Nicholson

Ariana O’Dell

Shelbi Onofrey

Christina Owsald

Raven Poole

Zoe Reyes

Kaytlyn Ricciardi

Cody Salter

Shikia Samuels

Jacob Scruggs

Dalton Shealy

Benjamin Singleton

Ross Starnes

Megan Stills

Hattie Summers

Sergio Swygert

Brittany Temples

Chetavian Weeks

Alexia Wigfall

Anthony Williams

Rylee Williams

George Williamson

Dara Younce


Ti’Juan Abney

Brittany Boland

Zhadrian Burgess

Aaron Cannon

Makayla Clark

Daijohn Coleman-Scott

Walter Coleman

Charles Collins

Devune Corder

Camron Denton

Wendy Diaz

Damon Drake

Andrea Edwards

William Harrell

Trevon Holmes

Danquarius Jennings

Tyron Jordan

Andrew Leaphart

Marvin Leaphart

Kaylee Long

Ali Merritt

Jontavius Merritt

Darnell Mills

Charles Moore

Nitaya Murray

Kendall Powell

Miguel Rodriguez

Sherly Smith

Trasean Tolen

Irma Villaseca

Mikayla Wigfall

Qua-Jae Wigfall

Shannah Wise

Keep Your News Free - Donate to The Ledger
Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144