New Logo.PNG

Four District Five Students Named National Merit Scholarship Winners

IRMO – Four students from Lexington-Richland School District Five have been announced as winners of National Merit Scholarships. This brings the final total to 18 students who were named 2017 National Merit Scholarship recipients in District Five.

The following students have received college-sponsored Merit Scholarships and join nine other District Five students who were announced as winners of these scholarships in June. The students are: Kara Bane (Irmo High, Clemson University Scholarship); Daesung Chong (Irmo High, Clemson University Scholarship); Matthew McConnell (Spring Hill High, Clemson University Scholarship); and Addison Reeves (Dutch Fork High, Auburn University Scholarship). Also in June, one District Five student received a corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship, and four others received $2,500 National Merit Scholarships.

“Congratulations to all of our National Merit Scholarship Program winners,” said District Five’s Chief Instructional Officer Dr. Christina Melton. “These students represent the best of the best. This is another example of the great students, engaged parents and dedicated teachers we have in District Five.”

More than 7,500 students across the country received National Merit Scholarships in 2017. These distinguished high school graduates will receive scholarships for undergraduate study worth a total of over $32 million. In addition to college-sponsored awards, two other types of National Merit Scholarships were offered – National Merit $2,500 Scholarships and corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.

“What a tremendous honor for our district to have 18 students receive National Merit Scholarships,” said District Five Superintendent Dr. Stephen Hefner. “What makes it even better is that each of our four high schools were represented and that is a testament to the academic rigor throughout our system. We congratulate all of our winners and wish them the best as they move forward in their college careers, knowing that they will continue to represent District Five in a first-class manner!”

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144