New Logo.PNG

Candidates begin filing for November elections across Lexington County

Lexington, SC (Paul Kirby) – A number of candidates began filing to challenge incumbents, run to fill open seats, or run for re-election of offices they already hold across a number of municipalities and school districts across the county.

Filing opened on August 11th and since that date, these candidates have filed to run for the following positions: (* denotes incumbent)

City of West Columbia

City of West Columbia Council 1 - Mike Green *

City of West Columbia Council 3 - Casey Jordan Hallman *

City of West Columbia Council 5 - Boyd J Jones *

City of West Columbia Council 7 - Erin Porter

City of West Columbia Council 7 – Richard C. Walker

Town of Chapin

Town of Chapin Mayor – Skip Wilson *

Town of Chapin Mayor - David W. Knight

Town of Chapin Mayor - Shayla Flores

Town of Chapin Council - Al Koon

Town of Chapin Council - Preston Baines

Special School Board District 4 - Gaston/Swansea

Jeff Hart

Cornelius Jeffcoat

Town of Springdale

Town of Springdale Mayor - Michael Bishop *

Town of Swansea

Town of Swansea Mayor – Ray Spires *

The filing period remains open until August 25th at 12 noon. Filing takes place at the county’s voter registration and election office at 605 W Main St # 105, Lexington, SC weekdays between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144