111 North 12th Street

West Columbia, SC 29169

 $50 instore rebate off

4 tires

 Plus 50% off alignment 

Lexington One announces Teacher of the Year finalists

Lexington, SC - Lexington County School District One proudly announces its 10 finalists for District Teacher of the Year: Mrs. Karissa B. Cockrell, 5-Year-Old Kindergarten Teacher, Carolina Springs Elementary; Mrs. Kelly D. Herring, Second-Grade Teacher, New Providence Elementary; Mrs. Mary Ashley Rodriguez, Special Education Teacher, Pleasant Hill Middle; Mrs. Alecia W. Clamp, ESOL and Reading Recovery Teacher, Red Bank Elementary; Ms. Claire M. Compton, Mathematics Teacher and Teacher Cadet Instructor, River Bluff High; Mrs. Kristen C. Taylor, First-Grade Teacher, Rocky Creek Elementary; Mrs. Jacqulyne P. Nuovo, Third-Grade Teacher, Saxe Gotha Elementary; Mrs. Margaret “Peggy” Phillips, Lead Interventionist and Reading Recovery Teacher, White Knoll Elementary; Mrs. Katrina L. Haynes, Health Science Teacher, White Knoll High; and Mrs. Tiffany A. Shull, Sixth-Grade Science Teacher, White Knoll Middle.

These poised and articulate teachers possess a superior ability to impart knowledge to and inspire students with a love of learning; keep abreast of current educational theories and practices through professional development; devote time and energy to activities that improve instruction for children; show examples of innovative practices in their classrooms; contribute to the field of education by conducting seminars and workshops, and by supporting fellow teachers in their professional development; have the respect and admiration of students, parents and co-workers; and play active roles in their communities and schools.

In October, certified staff at each of Lexington County School District One’s 30 schools chose a certified teacher to represent them in the district’s 2017–2018 Teacher of the Year selection process. They completed written applications, which were read and scored by five teams of judges using an established rubric. The two Teachers of the Year with the highest application scores from each of the five teams became finalists, resulting in 10 finalists.

Judging continues for these 10 finalists in three categories — paperwork, interview and classroom observation until one of these finalists becomes the new District Teacher of the Year.

The 7 p.m. celebration of all the district’s Teachers of the Year and the announcement of the district’s new District Teacher of the Year takes place Thursday, March 29, 2018, at the Lexington One Performing Arts Center located on the campus of Lexington High School.

Keep Your News Free - Donate to The Ledger
Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144

Nancy Road Digital Media Inc.

                                                                                      DBA: The Lexington Ledger

Contact: (803) 587-3144                                                                                                           Tips call the hotline at: (803) 587-3144

email: thelexingtonledger@gmail.com                                                                                      Content protected by US copyright laws

                                                                                                                                                 Advertising / marketing call Paul (803) 587-3144


© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with Wix.com