New Logo.PNG

New Lexington County Council leadership elected

Lexington, SC (Paul Kirby) – Longtime County Council member Debbie Summers was elected to be the council’s chairperson yesterday afternoon. Summers represents District 4 which is Springdale, Lexington, a small section of West Columbia, and the Oak Grove area. She replaces outgoing chairperson Todd Cullum who held the position over the past several years.

Larry Brigham, the councilperson from District 2, which is the Batesburg-Leesville area, was elected as the vice chair. Brigham has also served for a number of years in the past.

Historically, the council chair serves for two years. Then, the vice-chair moves up to take his or her place. This is not a written policy, just how things have been done in the past.

The council chair generally stays much busier than regular members of the council. They are usually invited to a number of additional meetings and functions. It is a time-consuming job.

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144