New Logo.PNG

River Bluff wins third consecutive mock congressional hearing

Lexington, SC - River Bluff High School, of Lexington, won its third consecutive We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution competition on January 19 in Lexington. The first runner-up at the high school level was Carolina Forest High School, of Myrtle Beach.

We the People is an in-depth study of American history with an emphasis on understanding the formation of the Constitution and its interpretation throughout history. During the competition, sponsored by the SC Bar Law Related Education (LRE) Division, students participated in a mock congressional hearing and discussed critical issues regarding American government, the founding fathers and current events based on a constitutional perspective.

The win marked River Bluff High School’s third consecutive state title in the high school division. The team will now represent South Carolina in the We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution National Finals, April 27-30 in Washington, D.C.

Participating students from River Bluff were Grant Bradford, Ben Brandes, Kristyna Brown, Colby Caviness, Macy Cope, Madison Corley, Shaylor Crawford, Izzy Dail, Sean Dedmon, Chloe Farhat, Chevonne Hasell, Hunter Hughes, Riley Lankes, Jamon Major, Jacob Marsh, Cain McKay, Nitzia Orozco, Gabby Ortiz Soto, Nate Rizer, Luke Shealy, Munna Singh, Camille Sullivan, Austin Tindal, Kamryn Ufford and Aydan Wunderich. Their teacher coach was Linsy Dooley.

Runner-up Carolina Forest has also earned a wild card slot in the national competition. The team has performed consistently well, placing in the top three each year for the last 10 competition years, and earning five total state titles.

Participating students from Carolina Forest were Ramy Alawar, Sandra Ataalla, Kareem Barbis, Connor Bresadola, Cassidy Callaghan, Brayleen Cepeda, Kyle Ewing, Sam Garrell, Kevlyn Lewis, Maria Pino, Rachael Rollins, Channelle Russell, Dayanara Sanchez, Sage Short and Brogan Will. Their teacher coach was JJ Iagulli.

LRE thanks the dedicated volunteers who generously gave their time and energy to participate in the 2018 We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution program: Sherri Marie Carr, Abbey Duffy, Evan Gessner, Evan Guthrie, Constance Holloway, Tara McCall, Rachel McKain, Jean Madden and Sabrina Owen.

Keep Your News Free - Donate to The Ledger
Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144