top of page

Lexington Three Board of Trustees Member elected as SCSBA President-Elect

Batesburg-Leesville, SC - Cheryl Burgess, a member of the Lexington County School District Three Board of Trustees, was elected as president-elect of the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) during the association’s annual Delegate Assembly held Saturday, December 7, in Charleston.

The association’s annual business meeting, which was held during the association’s Legislative Advocacy Conference, included voting delegates from most of the state’s 79 school boards. In addition to the election of association officers, delegates adopted resolutions to guide the association during the 2020 legislative session.

Mrs. Burgess was elected to the Lexington Three Board of Trustees in 2002. She has served as Secretary, Vice-Chair and Chair, as well as Advocacy Chair and Legislative Delegate to the SCSBA. She has been a member of the SCSBA board since 2010 and has achieved a Level 6 in the Boardmanship Institute Program.

Mrs. Burgess has served as President of the Twin City Rotary Club, Ambassador for the Batesburg-Leesville Chamber of Commerce and a mentor in the Lexington Three Mentoring Program. She is currently serving on the Midlands Technical College Advisory Board for the Batesburg-Leesville campus.

Mrs. Burgess is the only Lexington County representative elected to serve on the board and will be serving a one-year term.

Cheryl is married to John Burgess. They have two children Julie Ruff (Ben) and Jeff Burgess, and three grandchildren. She is a member of Faith Lutheran Church.

The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and a statewide voice for boards governing the state’s 79 school districts.

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144

bottom of page