top of page
Top of page.PNG

Cayce Police & Fire Departments recognizes their 2021 Officers of The Year Awards

Cayce, SC 12/09/2021 – The City of Cayce Police Department announced this week the recipients of their 2021 Cayce Officers of the Year Awards. These prestigious awards recognize the outstanding achievements within the Cayce Police and Fire Departments.

The Cayce Police Department’s spokesperson said that Sabrina Todd has been named Administrator of the Year. According to their release, Todd is an asset to the department and has taken initiative in solving potential problems before they arise. She continues to increase the efficiency of the organization in creative and insightful ways.

Vinton “Gill” Gillerson has been named the 2021 Rookie of the Year. Department leaders say that Gillerson displays a hard work ethic and exceeds the expectations of a traditional rookie officer. Gillerson is a team player who routinely offers assistance to other officers and accepts extra assignments when necessary.

The Cayce Police Department also announced that Gary Carnaggio is their School Resource Officer of the Year. Carnaggio exemplifies everything the Community Services Unit represents. Carnaggio continuously demonstrates commitment to ensuring that school staff members and students remain safe!

Donta Stewart has been named the 2021 Investigator of the Year. The department’s administration said that Donta takes the initiative and responsibility to work difficult cases. Stewart asserts a subtle, yet steadfast form of leadership that his fellow investigators have come to depend on. He has demonstrated a willingness to assist others, including younger, less-experienced officers and investigators.

The Cayce Police Department also announced that Lieutenant Dave Hoffman is this year’s Supervisor of the Year. Hoffman, pictured in the attached photo, exemplifies the qualities of a true leader by offering others assistance, answering questions, and providing guidance. Hoffman holds his people accountable by setting high standards, which improves the other officers’ quality of work.

Anthony “Tony” Branham has been named as the Cayce Police Officer of the Year. Branham has an incredible sense of attention to detail and fully utilizes sources of information and criminal intelligence to its full potential. He consistently applies this information in an effective way that results in closing cases by arrest that have gone cold.

Finally, Drew Creed has been awarded the prestigious J. Edgar Hoover Award. Creed sought out education and training opportunities in order to improve himself. Creed takes initiative in his training and is able to share it with others. His dedication and professionalism allow him to be given this distinguished award.

Sgt. Eddie Powell, who recently retired from his career in law enforcement was presented with a flag that flew over the department in his honor, his service weapon, and a challenge coin plaque, upon his retirement.

Cayce Police Chief, Chris Cowan, stated, “One of the best things we do as leaders is recognize the work of our team members. The hard part is singling out a few when you are surrounded by dedicated and professional officers and staff. The awards, voted on by Department employees, included several distinguished awards such as Officer of the Year. The J. Edgar Hoover Award recipient was nominated by a citizen. We are proud of the work these men and women do each and every day, and we are honored to celebrate each of them.”

PHOTO CAPTION: Lieutenant Dave Hoffman

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144

bottom of page