top of page
Top of page.PNG

Gibson Pond Park Reopens


Lexington SC, 08/30/2021 - The Town of Lexington’s Gibson Pond Park is now open to the public after being closed for more than a year for construction on the new dam and park renovations.


In 2015 historic flooding caused the Gibson Pond Park dam to breach, like many other dams in the area, leaving the pond empty. Since then, the Town of Lexington has worked to rebuild the dam and bring the park back to life for the community to enjoy once again.

The new bridge was installed in May of 2021 and there are plans to restock the pond with fish. The park is located at 241 Gibson Road in the Town of Lexington.

Additional background information: Gibson Pond Park has a rich history in the Lexington community. The pond is fed by Twelve Mile Creek and was once a site for gristmills, sawmills and a small cotton mill. Formerly known as George’s Pond, the property was purchased from the George family by Murray Gibson in 1943.

For nearly 30 years, Gibson Pond was a community recreational area featuring a pavilion known as the best dance hall in the county, picnic tables, swimming, fishing, canoeing, paddleboats, camping and even rental cabins. The property was closed to the public in 1972.

The Town of Lexington redeveloped Gibson Pond into a park in 2007 which allowed the public to enjoy it once again.


Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144

bottom of page