top of page
Top of page.PNG

Lexington County Council reelects Carrigg, Hudson as Chair, Vice Chair

Lexington, SC 01/18/2024 - Lexington County Council has reelected Beth Carrigg and Darrell Hudson to serve as Chairwoman and Vice Chairman for the upcoming year.


During their council meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 16, the members of County Council unanimously reelected Carrigg of Council District 7 as their Chairwoman and Hudson of Council District 3 as their Vice Chairman.


Chairwoman Beth Carrigg serves Council District 7, which includes the Seven Oaks area, and parts of both Irmo and Lexington. Chairwoman Carrigg has been a member of Lexington County Council since 2019. She served as the Chairwoman of the Justice and Economic Development Committees, and as a member of the Planning Committee. Carrigg has also served as a previous Parliamentarian for the Council. Before serving as a County Council member, Chairwoman Carrigg served as the countywide elected Clerk of Court for Lexington County from 2005 to 2017.


“I am humbled, honored, and excited to once again have earned the confidence of such an amazing group of leaders working together to ensure responsible growth and providing quality services to the citizens of Lexington County,” Carrigg said about being elected to a second term as Chairwoman of the County Council.


“With continued exploding growth, we are prepared to get in the trenches and make tough, yet responsible decisions to protect the uniqueness of Lexington County,” Carrigg said.


Carrigg is only the second female to lead in the history of Lexington County Council. Carrigg is also the only female in the history of Lexington County Council to lead the body in consecutive terms.


Carrigg was born and raised in South Carolina and has been a resident of Lexington County for more than 35 years. She attended Midlands Technical College and the University of South Carolina. She is married to the Honorable John Carrigg, Esq. and they share three adult children and two grandchildren.

Vice Chairman Darrell Hudson represents County Council District 3, which serves most of the Town of Lexington and various shores of Lake Murray. This is his second term in the District 3 seat. Hudson has been a member of Lexington County Council since 2016 and has served on multiple committees during that time including Health and Human Services, Administration, Economic Development, and others.


Most recently, Hudson has served as the Vice Chairman of the Planning Committee and the Chairman of the Public Works/Solid Waste Management Committee. Hudson also served as Parliamentarian for the council in 2022.

“It’s an honor to be reelected as Vice Chairman. I love my county and I love to serve,” Hudson said. “Very few things in life give me more pleasure than solving problems for the people who hired me to represent them.”

“I have been a committed advocate for my constituents and I have fought tirelessly to facilitate changes that are important to the citizens of District 3,” Hudson said. “As Vice Chairman in 2024, that will not change.”

Hudson has been a member of the Lexington County community for 67 years. Outside of his role as a council member, Hudson is a successful entrepreneur and small business owner. He has been married to his wife, Gay, for 34 years and together they share four children and two grandchildren.

Chairwoman Beth Carrigg

Vice Chairman Darrell Hudson

Call the Editor
(803) 587-3144

Counter reset on January 30, 2018 with total hits of 966,512 to date

Call Paul Kirby

(803) 587-3144

bottom of page